For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.


The result of a merger between the Faculties of Arts, Philosophy and Theology in 1997, the Faculty of Humanities not only houses an assortment of established and respected disciplines, including Foreign Languages, Dutch Studies, History, Archaeology, Theatre Studies and Philosophy, but also such pioneering research fields as New Media, Digital Humanities, and Conservation and Restoration.

The Faculty is arranged along the lines of staff, research and education:

  • The academic staff is grouped in eight departments. Support and management staff is either working within the Faculty office or within one of the departments.
  • Our research is organised within the faculty research institute, the Amsterdam Institute for Humanities Research (AIHR), led by the Director of Faculty Research. The AIHR houses five Research Schools:  ACLC, ARTESASCA, ASH and AHM. In addition, the faculty participates in the interfaculty Institute for Logic, Language and Computation (ILLC).
  • The Graduate School of Humanities (GSH) is responsible for the Master's programmes.
  • The College of Humanities (CoH) is responsible for undergraduate education.

The Faculty Regulations of the University of Amsterdam Faculty of Humanities can be found through the link below.